If I were a single girl and if were to marry….

…Scurrilous, Sacrilegious, Scandalous?

Naughty lyrics being popular with students not uncommon

Such songs had the zing to crack us up during my time at the college. I have no clue as to whether the song was penned by any popular band of the day. But I know it allowed students the leeway to improvise and come up with their own verses. 

Perhaps if that song is still a hit among the present generation one of the occupations that may find mention in it will be that of the personal trainer. 

Lunch-Break Regimen: And this brings me to what I originally wanted to talk about in this post – about my new lunch-break regimen (though with a certain lack of regularity!) in Singapore. One of the good things I have done of late is enrol myself at a gym near my office. So instead of wandering along Robinsons Road and Raffles Place during the lunch-break, I take time off for some workouts at the gym.

Isn’t this an interesting nostalgic trip for me, with the gym being the unlikely trigger! Not all naughty numbers caught our fancy, though. I remember staying clear of, to cite an example, Donna Sommers’ I love to love you baby. I found it a total embarrassment to listen to despite all tales about how she had to get into a self-induced orgasmic frenzy to record the song.

Avid readers may remember humour columnist PS Wall’s book, If I were a Man, I’d Marry Me. I am yet to read it, but the title is so funny I would like to lay my hands on it soon.

Not wholly irrelevant (or irreverent) to what I have been talking about here is the following light stuff on dating that was in my mailbox a few days ago. Have fun!

What happens when you fall in love with:

A chef? (You get buttered up.)

A chauffeur? (You get taken for a ride.)

A gambler? (He cheats on you.)

A telephone operator? (He gives you a phone-y line.)

A trashman? (He dumps you.)

A clockmaker? (He two-times you.)

A pastry cook? (He desserts you.)

A shoe salesman? (He walks all over you.)

An elevator operator? (He lets you down.)

An artist? (He gives you the brush.)

A jogger? (He gives you the run-around.)

 —–G Joslin Vethakumar

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “If I were a single girl and if were to marry….

  1. The Bull

    That was interesting…

    And by the by do you the complete lyrics for the Surangani Song!

Leave a Reply

