Mom’s Second Death Anniversary

I don’t like to flaunt my Christian faith, there is no need to. In fact, I consider anyone who does it (from any religion) a fundamentalist to be kept at a distance. At home, it is fine as it is your very own cocoon. We do have images of Jesus and Biblical verses at home.

I can, nonetheless, assert that I am secular in outlook and sometimes even think of myself as an agnostic. So much for my fickleness! It is fine occasionally to get a little personal!

We are Protestants/Anglicans but my mom, Sathiavathy Gnanadhas, loved Mother Mary and would visit the Velankanni church in Tamil Nadu regularly – since my childhood. Visits there were often as a family. We went there even after my marriage and after that of my brother.

Both my brother and I had our primary and secondary schooling in Catholic institutions. As a family, we are staunch Protestants and have always been members of the Anglican church or those within the Church of South India denomination.

All that fluff aside, this day in 2014, a day before Mother Mary’s birthday, we lost our mom.

moms-2nd-death-anniversary

It’s two years since her passing, things have not changed much and some of her unfulfilled wishes remain just that. We will be able to fulfill them soon.

G Joslin Vethakumar

Leave a comment

Filed under General, Sathiavathy Gnanadhas

Leave a Reply

