The Mighty Pen in Digital Era!

‘For a journalist, you are rather a poor correspondent’ – why written words matter
https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/for-a-journalist-you-are-rather-a-poor-correspondent-why-written-words-matter

Ravi Velloor is a fountainhead of information, given his enviable and vast experience as a journalist. I did not know he was a connoisseur of fountain pens, until I read this piece in The Straits Times today!
His reports are well written. If his father found him to be a “poor correspondent”, my parents may have thought of me along the same line as I was poor at written communications with them after I moved to Singapore.
I have not been a big user of fountain pens though my father had given me a few, including a Sheaffer with a gold nib! I regret not having kept it safe for some antique value!
I recall conversations with him relating to fountain pens as he considered them, particularly the likes of Watermark, special. And of exclusive pen shops in Parry’s Corner, Chennai!
I did not take a fancy to them as I only liked to use ballpoint pens – utility value, no smudging of shirt pockets, not uncommon with those of the fountain variety! Pilot is the most common of pens I had received in the past. Not expensive ones though it used to be held as a premium gift in India back then! Now I learn they had pricey ones too, such as Pilot Namiki!
I have loved to write and receive letters. Pens now are helpful for taking notes at meetings, not when you have to write reams of content!

G Joslin Vethakumar

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a comment